Connect Notifications

In this article, you’ll learn about the email and SMS notifications that Dispatch Connect will send, how to add additional recipients, and how to configure your notification settings.

Solution: Providing visibility and increased customer service through setting up and sending notifications.

Prerequisites:

Organization Settings

This is where you set up who the notifications are “from”. You will put the Recipient Facing Organization Name and a Contact Phone Number that will appear on all notifications that are sent out. This can be found in the Organization Settings in the upper-right dropdown menu.

 

Global Delivery Notification Settings

Before completing your first delivery with Dispatch Connect, we recommend configuring your Global Notification Settings. 

Fields

    • Recipient Facing Organization Name: This field allows you to specify how your customers refer to your business. For example, the Dispatch application may have your official business name as Acme Inc, Branch 103, but you just want your customers to see Acme Inc.
    • Contact Phone Number: The phone number you want recipients to call if they have questions about their delivery. This will appear in email notifications and on the delivery status page.
  • Website Address: The website address you want recipients to see for your website.

 

These settings will prompt notifications about deliveries executed on your own fleet as well as those completed by Dispatch Marketplace drivers.

 

Note: With the Connect Professional plan (tier 2), you have the ability to upload your company logo into the Connect Settings which will then appear on all SMS & Email notifications sent out.

Types of Notifications Available

You’ll choose a delivery format from the options of: 

None, SMS and Email, SMS, or Email

 

Global Notification Settings:

  • Delivery Created
  • Out for Delivery
  • ETA Updated
  • Delivery Attempted
  • Delivery Complete
  • Delivery Canceled

 

Below this, you can also customize by individual customers. When you click on the Customize by Customer button it takes you to the Address Book where you can search for a customer and edit which notifications this customer will get.

 

Or you can go directly into the Address Book, select a customer and edit their information including the notifications.

 

If you have the Connect Professional plan (tier 2) you’re also able to customize each notification message text, as shown below. You can then preview the SMS or email notifications, and send a test SMS message. If you want to start over with your customization, you can click the Reset to Default button which will put the original (default) messaging back in place.

 



 


Email Notifications

Email notifications will be sent about the delivery to any email address populated within the Recipient Notifications section of the Delivery Form. You can add email addresses when you create the delivery or you can edit the delivery to add more recipients at any time before it is marked complete, by filling out the top field in the photo. Separate email addresses by commas.

All notifications will include a link to the delivery status page. See below for more on this.

Delivery Created

When a delivery has been created in the Dispatch Connect system, all recipient email addresses will receive an email notifying them of the new delivery. The notifications will include the real-time ETA at the top if you toggle on the real-time ETA notifications in the Notification Settings.

 

 

Out for Delivery

When a pickup stop has been completed and the delivery is en route, all recipient email addresses will receive an email notifying them their delivery is on its way.

 

ETA Updated

When a delivery has an updated Estimated Time of Arrival, all recipient email addresses will receive a proof of delivery email.

 

Delivery Attempted

When a delivery has been attempted, the driver was unable to deliver for a reason, but can still include a photo and note. All recipient email addresses will receive a proof of delivery email notating the delivery was attempted. The customer can then decide if the delivery will be tried again, or on another route, or the next day.

Delivery Complete

When a delivery has been completed, all recipient email addresses will receive a proof of delivery email.

Delivery Canceled

When a delivery has been canceled, all recipient email addresses will receive a proof of delivery email.


SMS Notifications

SMS, or text, notifications will be sent about the delivery to any phone numbers populated within the Recipient Notifications section of the Delivery Form. You can add phone numbers when you create the delivery or you can edit the delivery to add more recipients at any time before it is marked complete.

 

The following SMS notifications can be sent to all recipient phone numbers provided in the 2nd field in the picture above. Separate phone numbers by commas.

  • Delivery Created
  • Out For Delivery
  • ETA Updated
  • Delivery Attempted
  • Delivery Complete
  • Delivery Canceled

All notifications will include a link to the delivery status page. See below for more information on this.

Delivery Created

When a delivery has been created in the Dispatch Connect system, all recipient phone numbers will receive an SMS message notifying them of the new delivery.

 

Out for Delivery

When a pickup stop has been completed and the delivery is en route, all recipient phone numbers will receive an SMS message notifying them their delivery is on its way. 

ETA Updated

When a delivery has been created in the Dispatch Connect system, all recipient phone numbers will receive an SMS message notifying them if a delivery’s estimated time of arrival has been updated.

 

ETA UPDATED: Your delivery ETA from has been updated to . Track here: . Reply STOP to unsubscribe.

Delivery Attempted

When a delivery has been created in the Dispatch Connect system, all recipient phone numbers will receive an SMS message notifying them the delivery has been attempted.

DELIVERY ATTEMPTED: A delivery from was attempted . Track here: . Reply STOP to unsubscribe.

Delivery Complete

When a delivery has been completed, all recipient phone numbers will receive a proof of delivery SMS message.

Delivery Canceled

When a delivery has been created in the Dispatch Connect system, all recipient phone numbers will receive an SMS message notifying them when the delivery is canceled.

CANCELED: Your delivery from has been canceled . Track here: . Reply STOP to unsubscribe.

Delivery Status Page

All email and SMS notifications sent from Dispatch Connect include a link to the delivery status page. This page is publicly accessible to anyone with a link, which has details about the delivery, including:

  • Reference number for the delivery
  • Link to share the status page
  • Delivery status
  • Assigned vehicle 
  • Delivery schedule
  • Map of pickup and drop-off locations
  • Pickup and drop-off details, contact information, and notes
  • Contact information for your business

The link will expire after 90 days if you are not logged into the platform. Otherwise, it never expires. 

If you have questions, please contact us at connectsupport@dispatchit.com. A Dispatch team member will reach out to you for support.