Creating and Managing a Route

In this article, you will learn how to create and manage your route on the Dashboard within the Preparing status.

Prerequisites:
At least one Active Vehicle on the Dashboard
At least one Delivery in Today’s Deliveries on the Dashboard

Create a New Route

On the Dashboard, you can create a Route by assigning at least one delivery to an Active Vehicle. In the Today’s Deliveries section, click on the Select Vehicle dropdown for a specific delivery to see the list of Active Vehicles you can assign the delivery too.

Assigning a vehicle will move the delivery to that vehicle and begin building a route.

 

 

A new section will appear on the vehicle named Route Details and will contain the following information:

  • Deliveries: Total number of deliveries assigned to the route
  • Total Items: Total units assigned to the route
  • Route Status: The status of the route, typically in Preparing as you are creating, editing, and reordering your route
  • Route Order: The order of the pickup and delivery stops associated with each delivery assigned to the route
  • Pickup Stop: A pickup stop associated with the delivery added to the route uses a box icon as an indicator
  • Drop-off Stop: A drop-off associated with the delivery added to the route uses a numeric icon as an indicator for route order
  • Send to Driver: Button that will update the route and send that information to the driver to view and execute on via the mobile app
  • Completed Routes: If this vehicle has completed a route today, the completed route will show beneath the active route

          Naming a Route

          As you are creating a route, you have the option to create a name for that route. Click on the edit pencil icon to the right of Route Details.

           

           

          Doing so will open a field where you can type a name for the route. Click Save to update the route name, or cancel to exit the edit without saving changes.

          Adding Deliveries to a Route

          Once you have a route initially created, continue to add more deliveries to the same route via the Select Vehicle dropdown. Adding multiple deliveries with the same pickup location will show only one pickup stop on the route.

          When you add multiple deliveries with different pickup locations to a route, then that route will update to show each pickup stop at differing locations.

           

          Removing Deliveries from a Route 

          To remove a delivery from a route before it has been sent to a driver, simply click on the delivery menu and select the Unassign Delivery action. This will remove the delivery from the assigned route and place it back in the Today’s Deliveries section on the Dashboard.

          If that delivery was the only item to be picked up at the associated pickup stop, then the pickup stop and box icon will also be removed from the manifest.

          You can easily remove all deliveries assigned to a route by inactivating the vehicle in which the route and deliveries are assigned. By swiping the Active/Inactive toggle, it will inactivate the vehicle and remove the deliveries from the assigned route and place it back in the Today’s Deliveries section on the Dashboard.

          Please check out the article Editing a Route for additional detailed steps around editing and updating a route that has been shared with a driver. 

          Moving Deliveries to a New Route

          To move a delivery to a different route, first remove the delivery from its assigned route using the instructions above. Then assign the delivery to a different route.

          Reordering a Route via Drag and Drop

          To reorder the sequence of your route, simply click on the stop to drag and drop it into the position you’d like.  

           

          Selecting a stop will highlight that stop, along with its associated drop-off or pickup stop. 

          You can drag and drop the stops freely, but you will not be allowed to move a delivery stop before its pickup stop.  

           

          Reordering stops also has an impact on what you will see visually on the map. As soon as you begin reordering your stops, your route on the map will update. Hovering over a stop will show a shadow in the route, and also magnify the associated stop icon on the map.

           

           

          Changes made to routes in the Preparing state (not yet sent to a driver) are automatically saved as you drag and drop your stops.  

          Optimizing a Route

          This article walked you through how to manually make changes to a route. For more details on the Optimize my Route button, please read this article.

          Plan My Routes

          This article walked you through how to manually make changes to a route. For more details on the Plan My Routes button, please read this article.




          If you have questions, please contact us at connectsupport@dispatchit.com. A Dispatch team member will reach out to you for support.