Delivery Workflow and Status

In this article, you will learn about the delivery status definitions and overall lifecycle of a delivery.

Delivery Status Summary

A delivery has an associated status that informs where the delivery resides within the delivery management workflow. The delivery status can be found on both the Dashboard and Delivery Management pages. Review the below table for delivery status definitions.

Delivery Status

Definition

Unassigned

Delivery is logged in Dispatch Connect and has not been assigned to a vehicle. 

Assigned

Delivery is assigned to a vehicle that has not yet been sent to the driver for pickup.

Pending Pickup

Delivery assigned to a route that has been sent to the driver and is awaiting pickup.

Out for Delivery

Delivery is picked up and on a vehicle that is out for delivery today.

Complete

Delivery is made, dropped off and marked as complete.

Canceled

Delivery is canceled in the system.  

Sent to Marketplace

Delivery is sent to the Dispatch Marketplace to be picked up and delivered by the Dispatch network of drivers.

Incomplete

Delivery was assigned to a manifest that was not completed and has rolled over to the next day.


Delivery Lifecycle Workflow

Delivery Creation

A delivery is added to Dispatch Connect manually via the New Delivery Form or automatically through the Dispatch Connect API. New deliveries will automatically become logged in Dispatch Connect with a status of Unassigned.

Please check out the article Creating and Managing a Delivery for additional detailed steps around creating, editing, and canceling deliveries.

Delivery Assignment

A delivery will transition to Assigned once that delivery has been added to a vehicle for delivery. 

Removing a delivery from a route will transition the delivery back to the Unassigned status. Re-assigning a delivery from one vehicle to a different vehicle will keep the delivery in the Assigned status.

Please check out the article Building a Route for additional detailed steps around assigning, reordering, and removing deliveries from a route.

Delivery Pickup 

A delivery will transition to a status of Pending Pickup once the route that delivery is assigned to has been sent to the driver. It will remain in Pending Pickup while the vehicle is loaded until the driver swipes to mark the pickup stop complete. All route details are shared with the driver and the driver will receive a push notification at this step in the process.

After the driver confirms they have picked up the delivery by swiping to complete the pickup stop on the mobile app, the delivery status will be Out for Delivery as the driver takes off to complete their route.

Please check out the articles Sending a Route to a Driver and Completing a Pickup for additional detailed steps around these processes in the Web App and Mobile App.

Delivery Completion

After the driver confirms they have successfully completed a delivery by swiping to complete the drop-off stop in the mobile app, the delivery status will be Complete.

Please check out the article Completing a Delivery for detailed steps around this process in the Mobile App.

Delivery Cancellation

A delivery can be canceled at any point during the delivery management process. A canceled delivery will display the delivery status as Canceled.  

Please check out the article Cancel a Delivery for additional details about canceling deliveries.

Incomplete Delivery

A delivery that was assigned to a route and picked up but never delivered will be marked as Incomplete

Incomplete deliveries will also show on the Delivery Dashboard so that they can be easily assigned, rescheduled, or canceled.

Please check out the article Managing Incomplete Deliveries for additional details.

If you have questions, please contact us at connectsupport@dispatchit.com. A Dispatch team member will reach out to you for support.