Route Lifecycle and Status

In this article, you will learn about the delivery status definitions and overall lifecycle of a delivery.

Route Status Summary

A route’s status dictates the expected next steps a user can take when interacting with the route. The route status can be found on the Dashboard page within the Route Details of a Vehicle. Review the below table for route status definitions.

Delivery Status

Definition

Preparing 

A route is associated with a vehicle and in the process of being built, optimized, and validated on the Dashboard. 

Sent to Driver

Route has been sent to the driver for pickup.

En Route

Driver is currently completing stops on the route for today.

Complete

All stops on the route have been completed, canceled, or marked as incomplete.

Optimizing

When a user clicks the Optimize My Route or Plan My Routes button, it may take a few seconds for the results to be returned. While waiting for a result to be generated, some functionality may be limited to avoid conflicts.

Route Lifecycle Workflow

Route Creation

A route is created in Dispatch Connect when one or more deliveries have been assigned to an active vehicle on the Dashboard. The Active Routes section on the vehicle will show the status of Preparing.  

The route status will remain in Preparing as the route is updated, amended or optimized.  

Please check out the article Building a Route for additional detailed steps around assigning, optimizing, and removing deliveries from a route.

Sending the Route to the Driver

A route will transition to the status of Sent to Driver when the route has been sent to the driver for vehicle loading and delivery pickup. A push notification is sent to the driver with delivery and route details at this step in the process.

 

After the driver has confirmed they have picked up the deliveries by swiping to complete the pickup stop on the mobile app, the route status will be En Route as the driver takes off to complete the route.

 

Please check out the articles Sending a Route to a Driver and Completing a Pickup for additional detailed steps around these processes in the Web App and Mobile App.

Route Completion

After the driver has completed all deliveries within the route, the route will be completed and route details will become available in the Completed Routes section on the vehicle.

 

Please check out the article Completing a Route for additional detailed steps around this process in the Mobile App.

Route Optimizing

When a user clicks the Optimize My Route or Plan My Routes button, it may take a few seconds for the results to be returned. In order to preserve data integrity while waiting for an optimization result to be generated, the following functionality will be unavailable:

  • Edit a route
  • Edit a delivery on the route being optimized
  • Cancel a delivery
  • Reorder stops on a route
  • Send route to a driver

This functionality will be limited in both the web UI and the API.

If you have questions, please contact us at connectsupport@dispatchit.com. A Dispatch team member will reach out to you for support.