Using Marketplace to Fulfill Connect Deliveries

In this article, you will learn how you can send deliveries to the Dispatch Marketplace for fulfillment when you need additional delivery support.

Prerequisites

  • You must be in a current Dispatch market

Common Scenarios

You can send any delivery to the Dispatch Marketplace, but common scenarios and examples include the following:

- When you have a hot shot (time-sensitive) delivery

- When you've reached capacity with your fleet

- When there is only a small part to deliver

- When your staff doesn't want to take time away from their core responsibilities

- When it's outside your normal delivery area

- When you experience peak season

Send a Delivery to the Marketplace

Dispatch Connect lets you manage all of your Dispatch Marketplace orders and the deliveries your drivers are completing in one place. From the Dashboard, choose an unassigned delivery in the Today’s Deliveries section and using the three-dot menu on the right, you’ll see the option to Send to Dispatch.

 

Selecting Send to Dispatch will open a new browser tab and take you to the Marketplace Order Form where you can schedule your delivery with Dispatch Marketplace.

 

The Marketplace Order Form will be populated with relevant data from your Connect delivery, though you will be required to validate the fields and select a vehicle type and service level before you submit your order.

 

After creating the Marketplace Order, refresh the Dispatch Connect Dashboard to see a Dispatch Driver card on the Dashboard and the Pickup location, Drop-off location, and orange route line on the Dashboard Map.  



On the Dashboard page, a Dispatch ‘D’ Icon will appear to the left of the Delivery Reference ID to denote that delivery has been sent to the Dispatch Marketplace. The delivery status also reads Sent to Dispatch.

 



Once the delivery has been completed on the Dispatch Marketplace, the Dispatch Driver card on the Dashboard and will show an updated status of Complete. The icons on the Dashboard Map will become grey.

 

View Details for a Delivery Sent to the Marketplace

If you need to make changes to your marketplace order, the Dispatch Marketplace is just a few clicks away. You can easily access the order on the Dashboard plan view, map view or list view, and select Open Marketplace Order.

 

 

This action will navigate you directly to the Marketplace Order where you can review details in full and make any needed changes.

Cancel a Delivery Sent to the Marketplace

To cancel a Delivery that has been sent to the Dispatch Marketplace, navigate to the Dashboard plan view, map view, list view for the delivery. Select Cancel Marketplace Order from the drop-down.

 

This action will take you to the Cancellation Screen within the Dispatch Marketplace where you can select your cancellation reason and provide additional information.

 

 

When your Dispatch Marketplace order is cancelled, the Connect Delivery will revert back to a status of Unassigned. The Dispatch Driver card and route on the Dashboard will be removed. You can then take the following actions:

  • Send the delivery back to the Dispatch Marketplace. This will create a new order.
  • Schedule the delivery on one of your routes by assigning the delivery to a vehicle.
  • Cancel the delivery within Connect.

Please note that deliveries sent to the Dispatch Marketplace cannot be canceled via the Connect APIs.

 

If you have questions, please contact us at connectsupport@dispatchit.com. A Dispatch team member will reach out to you for support.